General information

The Premier League or the Barclays Premier League is a professional football championship and the primary football competition in England and Wales. It is actually a private company owned by the 20 Member Clubs who form the League at the time, each of them also being its Shareholders. However, the football clubs are independent and they are acting within the Premier League Rule Book, also being subject to English and European law. The competition takes place every year between August and May, offering football fans an amazing spectacle of 380 matches during the season. The games are usually played on weekends, however, some matches take place on weekday evenings as well. Barclays Bank is the league’s sponsor, that’s why it is officially known as the Barclays Premier League, although it is mostly referred to as the English Premier League outside the country. You will find a great deal of English Premier League predictions on this blog.


The competition was initially created as the FA Premier League on 20 February 1992, as a result of First Division teams deciding to quit the Football League, founded in 1888, and beneficiate from the increasing influx of money being injected into the sport.  Gaining commercial independence from The Football Association and the Football League, the newly formed division now had the opportunity to negotiate its own broadcast agreement – a deal that will be worth £3 billion by 2013-14, with BSkyB and BT Group broadcasting in 212 countries to over 600 million viewers.  There’s no place to bet on the English Premier League like the best sportsbook for football betting Pinnacle Sports!

The Premier League hosted its first season in 1992–93 and was initially comprised of 22 clubs: Arsenal, Aston Villa, Blackburn Rovers, Chelsea, Coventry City, Crystal Palace, Everton, Ipswich Town, Leeds United,  Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Middleborough, Norwich City, Nottingham Forest, Oldham Athletic, Queens Park Rangers, Sheffield United, Sheffield Wednesday, Southampton, Tottenham Hotspur and Wimbledon. Brian Deane of Sheffield United scored the first ever Premier League goal in a 2–1 win against Manchester United.

Best Odds for the upcoming matches

The Barclays Premier League has competed for 20 seasons since 1992, its previous champions including clubs like: Manchester United (12 titles), Arsenal (3), Chelsea (3), Blackburn Rovers (1) and Manchester City (1), who are the current champions after achieving a first place in the 2011–12 season.


Barclays Premier League TeamsTwenty football clubs compete in the English Premier League every year. According to the double round-robin system, the clubs face one another twice during the course of a season, playing home and away matches, with a total of 38 games. The teams earn three points in case of a win and one point in case of a draw, no points being awarded for a loss. The ranking criteria are, respectively, the total points, then goal difference, and then the goals scored. Select the best odds and limits in the best betting platform, VIP-IBC!

The team which ends the season with most points is crowned champion. In case teams have an equal number of points, the winner is determined by the goal difference and then the goals scored. The clubs which occupy the three lowest places are downgraded into the Football League Championship, and the Championship’s top two teams, along with the winner of the playoffs, are promoted in their place.


1993–2001: Carling (FA Carling Premiership)

2001–2004: Barclaycard (Barclaycard Premiership)

2004–present: Barclays (Barclays Premiership until 2007, being later renamed Barclays Premier League)


This post is also available in: Romanian