General information

The Primera División, also known by most English-speaking parts of the world as LaLiga or Liga BBVA (BBVA League), is the No.1 professional football division of the Spanish Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional (LFP), offering the entire world an amazing spectacle every year between September and June. According to UEFA’s league coefficient, the Primera División (First Division) has been the most popular league in Europe in the past five years. Achieving an average attendance of 28,286 at the matches of the 2009–10 season, the Spanish championship is the sixth-highest domestic sports leagues in the world and the third-highest professional association football leagues in Europe, the top two being the German Bundesliga and English Premier League.


LaLiga was established in 1928 by The Spanish Football Federation and started off as a ten-team competition. Overall, a total of 59 teams have competed in the championship, nine of which have won the title. The first team to have won the Primera Liga was FC Barcelona, plucking the victory from bitter rivals Real Madrid. But, over the course of years, La Liga has crowned other champions including Atlético Madrid, Athletic Bilbao, Valencia, Deportivo, Real Betis and Sevilla. However, starting with the 1950s, Real Madrid and Barcelona have dominated the contest, with Barcelona winning the crown 21 times and Real having won a record 32 times and being the current defending champion. You will find the best Primera Division odds at the best sportsbook for football betting, Pinnacle Sports.


la liga primera division

The Primera División is presently a 20 teams contest and it uses the standard double round-robin format. During the season each club plays every other club twice, hosting one of them and having an away game, with a total of 38 matches. The teams receive three points for a win, one point for a draw and no points for a loss. The main criterion that ranks the teams is the total points, so the team with the biggest number of points at the end of a season is crowned champion.

If two teams have an equal number of points, the head-to-head goal difference is used to determine the winner. In case the tie is between more than two clubs, the following criteria come into play: head-to-head points, head-to-head goal difference, and head-to-head goals scored. If not all teams have played two-legged games, or the tie remains unresolved by the above rules, it is broken using: total goal difference and total goals scored. In case the tie remains unsettled after all the above criteria have been applied, the Fair Play scales are used to determine the champion.

Follow our Primera Division tips for the best LaLiga odds and the best odds at VIP-IBC, the best betting platform for multiple bookmakers.


– Alands Penningautomatforening (PAF)  
– BBVA Group

Tv partners

-Marca TV

This post is also available in: Romanian